Love?

When I was younger. I thought love was simple…. taking two people searching for affection and confiding in each other and hopefully they can get along alright.  That’s about the time I fell in love… because I was searching for something to make me whole. Quotes like Jerry Maguire’s “I love you, you complete me,” created a strong magnetic attraction in me for love.

As I grew (wiser?..dumber?), this theory evolved. It turned into well if you were complete yourself, then you could complete someone else. Fulfill their needs as well. Meaning if you are able to handle yourself confidently and by God’s grace you were blessed and spared from the many hardships of life you could be that missing piece for someone else. At that time really liked the song by Enrique Igliesias “I can be your hero.” And as cheesy as that sounds I also like this new song by TI “You can have whatever you like” — yet this mantality is a fail becuase I myself am not complete, not whole… Plus the night and shining armor story is so rediculously arrogant.

Many times in church or weddings or reviewing scripture we are reminded that the merical of love is the passion that materializes when two people, whole in themselves and Christ are able to become one. The merical of love is the equation 1 + 1 = 1…. not .5 +.5 = 1 or .75 + .25 = 1 or .9 + .1 = 1… you get the picture.

But it gets complicated… what if someone from your past still holds onto a peice of your heart?

…and for that matter who is actually whole?

So then, there must be a mirical through God’s grace for a person’s heart to become whole.

Making then the merical of love is then two mericals… the merical to be whole in yourself through God and the merical that two whole people will find each other.

Sounds to me like love between two people in that passionate way is then rare. So maybe that’s why we gravitate to it and maybe thats why we settle. Since by human nature we gravitate towards what is scares. And when things are scarce, we might setting for the next best thing. If you are dieing of thrust you will drink anything even if its damaging to you.

Thinking too much? haha. ok back to listening to TI

Stacks on deck , Patron on ice
And we can pop bottles all night
And baby you can have whatever you like
I said you can have whatever you like , yeah
Baby i’ll treat you so special so nice
Gas up the jet for you tonight
And baby you can go wherever you like
I said you can go wherever you like , yeah

and for giggles…

One Response

  1. …when things are scares, we might setting for the next best thing. If you are dieing of thurst you will drink anything even if its damaging to you.

    you are probably not too far away from the truth….

Leave a Reply

